Let’s meet at Decorex London 9-12 October 2022

A house of Tradition

Maison Drucker, established in 1885 by Louis DRUCKER is the oldest workshop of rattan chairs in France.

The know-how of DRUCKER, creator of furniture in rattan, especially the French bistro chair, is passed on from generation to generation since the 19th century. From the beginning, creativeness has been Drucker’s first concern with the permanent concern to keep the best of past while creating relentlessly with the best material available.

Drucker’s bistro chairs have become over time a symbol of the Parisian identity.
They are inseparable from the brand image and the personality of the most prestigious institutions.Today decorators from around the world work with Drucker for the use of the private individuals, to equip porches and winter gardens, to dress the kitchens of magnificent colors in the spirit ” Parisian bar “.
Drucker manufactures custom products : it means that when you ask Drucker to create your furniture, you choose their shape, their colors and their pattern, creating your personalized design.
Contact us, here.

Maison Drucker is certified “Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant”. Acknowledgment of its historical and outstanding know-how awarded by the Ministry of Finance.

The manufacturing

The traditional know-how of Maison Drucker is the custom-made craft manufacturing of furniture in rattan. The manufacturing of a rattan chair is a complex process requiring, for certain tasks, years of learning, in particular the weaving. Everything is hand-made, especially as the rattan being natural is not regular material.

Six work phases are necessary to build a Drucker chair in rattan :

The preparation of components in Rattan from the raw “perches” of rattan (from 3 to 5m): the cut, the sanding, the tint of knots, straightening, bending. The weaving of seats. The assembly.The weaving of backs. The edging : installation of a border in Rattan around the seat and the back of the chair. The finishing : installation of pads under the legs, varnishing.

The Rattan

The Rattan is a palm tree liana of the “Calamées” family. It grows in the shade of trees, in the wet grounds of rain forests: Indonesia, the Philippines(Filipinos), Malaysia … The culture of this liana thus requires the conservation of the trees on which it soars, its exploitation is an important element of the forest conservation. Just like for the wood, there are numerous varieties of rattan: blond Manila , Dark Malacca, and so many other various in color, in diameter, in length, having all their specific qualities. In the XVIth century, the Dutch, Portuguese, English sailors, as well as Spanish went off to explore these still unexplored Islands. Their main purpose was to bring back “Epices”. The storekeepers who followed closely the conquest of these rich parts of the country noticed very fast that the natives used a liana to make cables for their ships and that the bark chopped in with a knife was of use as a base to the construction of “bridge of liana “. The explosion of the Sea transport in the XIXth century, together with the birth of Marine Vapeur, pulled afterward a more and more important import of this material.

Why to use the rattan ?

The rattan, very light and resistant, is the only material that can used without any transformation. It is the vegetable which protects itself to be able to grow under extremely aggressive tropical climates.

The fibers of weaving Rilsan and Raucord

Both fibers can be used for the weaving, as well as the traditional splint of Rattan. The RILSAN, a “natural” polyamide obtained from the castor oil, replaced the splint of natural rattan for the weaving. It is traditionally preferred for the outside use. Then Raucord of the family of the PEHD appeared, which is satined on the contrary. It is often preferred for the inside use even if it is perfectly adapted for the outside use and as resistant as Rilsan.

The RILSAN distinguishes itself by :

Its outstandingly long-lasting flexibility: it does not lose its elasticity, even after numerous years of intensive use. Its resistance to ultraviolet radiation. It does not warm in the sun. Its resistance in insects, termites, mushrooms, molds. The preservation of its performances of use in a wide range of temperature of – 50°C in + 70°C. The liveliness and the shine of the color in time. Its ease of maintenance ; the rilsan requires no particular maintenance. Rilsan is a 100% French material, the only manufacturer in the world is the French ARKEMA company.

The Raucord

Raucord is the alternative, chosen according to considerations before any esthetics as the uses where the shine is not wished.

Metal and Wood

The Metal

DRUCKER makes “custom-made product” most of the metallic components which are used, to master the required qualities, including screws and nails, staples. The metallic frames are aluminum or steel, Galvanized (covered with Zinc) before receiving an Epoxy painting.

The Wood

Seats of rattan chairs are built around a wooden basis: the frame. In beech or in the best exotic wood following the use and the constraints required by the chair or the armchair to be realized. Drucker has about twenty models with exceptional strong frames.

Rencontrons-nous à Decorex Londres 9-12 Octobre 2022

Une maison de Tradition

La Maison Drucker, fondée en 1885 par Louis DRUCKER est la plus ancienne fabrique artisanale de sièges en rotin française.

Le savoir-faire de DRUCKER se transmet depuis le 19e siècle de génération en génération. Une grande créativité marque l’histoire de DRUCKER, accompagnée du souci permanent de conserver le meilleur du passé et de la plus grande exigence dans le choix des matériaux. Naissance d’un symbole : La chaise de bistrot parisienne.

Les sièges de terrasse DRUCKER sont devenus au fil du temps un symbole marquant de l’identité Parisienne. Ils sont indissociables de l’image de marque et de la personnalité des plus prestigieux établissements.
Aujourd’hui les décorateurs du monde entier s’en emparent aussi pour l’usage des particuliers, équiper vérandas et jardins d’hiver, habiller les cuisines de magnifiques couleurs dans l’esprit « bistro Parisien ».
Drucker fabrique « sur mesure » : ce qui signifie que lorsque vous faites appel à Drucker pour créer vos meubles, vous en choisissez leur forme, leurs couleurs et leur cannage, créant ainsi votre design personnalisé.
Pour nous contacter, cliquez ici

La Maison Drucker est labellisée « Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant ». Reconnaissance de son savoir-faire historique d’exception décernée par le Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances.

La fabrication

Le savoir-faire traditionnel de la maison Drucker est la fabrication artisanale sur mesure de mobilier en rotin.
La fabrication d’une chaise en rotin est une démarche complexe nécessitant pour certaines tâches des années d’apprentissage, en particulier le cannage. Tout est fait à la main, d’autant que Le rotin étant un matériau « vivant » et non régulier, il n’est possible de le travailler que par des méthodes artisanales.

Six phases de travail sont nécessaires pour construire une chaise en rotin Drucker :

La préparation des composants en Rotin à partir des « perches » de rotin (de 3 à 5m) : la découpe, le ponçage, la teinte des nœuds, le redressage, le cintrage. Le tissage des châssis. L’assemblage. Le tissage des dossiers. Le bordage (pose d’un jonc naturel autour du châssis et de la chaise). La finition (pose des dômes protégeant les pieds) et le vernis.

Le rotin

Le « Rotang » ou rotin est un palmier liane de la famille des « Calamées ». Il pousse à l’ombre des arbres, dans les terrains humides des forêts tropicales : Indonésie, Philippines, Malaisie… La culture de cette liane nécessite donc la préservation des arbres sur lesquels elle grimpe, son exploitation est un élément important de la conservation des forêts. Tout comme pour le bois, il existe de nombreuses essences de rotin : le Manille liane blonde, le Malacca plus sombre et comme vernissé, et tant d’autres différentes en couleur, en diamètre, en longueur, ayant toutes leurs qualités spécifiques. Au XVIème siècle, les navigateurs hollandais, portugais, anglais, ainsi que les espagnols partirent à la découverte de ces îles encore inexplorées. Leur principal but était de rapporter des « Epices ». Les commerçants qui suivirent de près la conquête de ces riches contrées remarquèrent très vite que les indigènes utilisaient une liane pour confectionner des câbles pour leurs navires et que l’écorce coupée au couteau servait de base à la construction de « pont de liane ». L’explosion du Transport Maritime au XIXe siècle lié à l’apparition de la Marine Vapeur, entraîna par la suite une importation de plus en plus importante de ce matériau.

Pourquoi utiliser le rotin ?

Le rotin, très léger et résistant, est le seul matériau qui est utilisé sans aucune transformation.C’est un végétal qui « s’auto protège » pour pouvoir pousser sous des climats tropicaux extrêmement agressifs.

Les fibres de tissage Rilsan et Raucord

L’une et l’autre fibre peuvent être utilisées pour le Cannage, de même que la traditionnelle éclisse de Rotin. Le RILSAN, un polyamide « naturel », le polyamide 11, obtenu à partir de l’huile de Ricin, a remplacé l’éclisse de rotin naturel pour le cannage. Il est traditionnellement préféré pour l’extérieur. Puis est apparu le Raucord de la famille des PEHD, qui est au contraire satiné. Il est souvent préféré pour l’intérieur même s’il est parfaitement adapté pour les usages extérieur et d’une résistance comparable au Rilsan dans le temps.

Le RILSAN se distingue par :

Sa souplesse remarquablement durable : il ne perd pas son élasticité, même après de nombreuses années d’utilisation intensive. Sa résistance aux ultraviolets. Il ne chauffe pas au soleil. Sa résistance aux insectes, termites, champignons, moisissures. Le maintien de ses performances d’utilisation dans une large gamme de température de – 50°C à + 70°C. La vivacité et la brillance de la couleur dans le temps. Sa facilité d’entretien; le rilsan ne nécessite aucun entretien particulier. Le Rilsan est un matériau 100% français dont le seul fabricant au monde est la société Française ARKEMA.
Le Raucord est l’alternative, choisie en fonction de considérations avant tout esthétiques pour les usages où la brillance n’est pas souhaitée.

Le Raucord

Le Raucord est l’alternative, choisie en fonction de considérations avant tout esthétiques pour les usages où la brillance n’est pas souhaitée.

Métal et Bois

Le Métal

DRUCKER fait fabriquer « sur-mesure » la plupart des composants métalliques qui sont utilisés, pour maîtriser les qualités requises, y compris vis et clous, agrafes. Les structures métalliques sont en Aluminium ou en Acier, Galvanisé (couvert de Zinc) avant de recevoir une peinture Epoxy.

Le Bois

Les sièges en structure rotin sont bâtis autour d’une assise en bois : le châssis. Ces châssis sont fabriqués par des menuisiers de premier rang. En hêtre ou dans les meilleurs bois exotiques suivant l’usage et les contraintes exigés par la chaise ou le fauteuil à réaliser. Drucker dispose d’une vingtaine de modèles de châssis exceptionnellement robustes.